IFFI 2016 - And The Award Goes To..

By: Amit Agarwal

The 9-day long International Film Festival of India, Goa 2016 came to an end with the Awards Presentation Ceremony. Here is a quick recap of awards both at the Inaugural & Closing Ceremony


Two special awards were given to film personalities as a way of appreciation for their exceptional contributions to the Global Cinema. These were:

Centenary Award for Indian Film Personality of the Year: S.P. Balasubramaniam

Legendary singer, actor and music director S. P. Balasubrahmanyam was felicitated for his contribution to Indian Cinema with the Centenary Award for Indian Film Personality of the Year. Having made his debut in 1996 in a Telugu film, he has rendered his voice to over 40,000 songs and holds a Guinness Record for having recorded the highest number of songs.

The Lifetime Achievement Award: Im Kwon Taek
South Korean filmmaker Im Kwon-taek, was conferred with the Lifetime Achievement Award. The famed director talked briefly, saying with wry humor that some of his work that wasn’t as well-received. 


The closing ceremony saw National Award-winner and director of the film Baahubali, S.S. Rajamouli as the Chief Guest for the evening. 

The International Competition section had a total of 15 movies of which two were from India. The Jury was headed by Czech writer- director Ivan Passer. The other members were Larry Smith (UK), Lordan Zafranovic (Croatia), Leila Kilani (Morocco) and Nagesh Kukunoor (India). 8 other movies were selected to compete with each other for the ICFT UNESCO Gandhi Award.

The winners of various categories under International Competition

Golden Peacock Award for the Best Film: 
Iranian film Daughter directed by Reza Mirkarimi

The Best Director Award: 
Soner Caner and Baris Kaya for Turkish Film Rauf

The Best Actor (Male) Award: 
Farhad Aslani for Iranian film Daughter

The Best Actor (Female) Award: 
Elina Vaska for Latvian film Mellow Mud 

Special Jury Award: 
South Korean movie The Throne by Lee Joon-Ik
Lee Joon-Ik wins for The Throne
The ICFT UNESCO Gandhi Award: 
Mustafa Kara for Turkish film Cold of Kalandar

The ICFT UNESCO Special Mention Award: 
Tiffany Hsuig for The Apology

Centenary Award for the Best Debut Film of a Director: 
Pepa San Martin for the Spanish film Ra Ra